You are here:

Multi-annual Framework 2013-2017

The thematic areas of the agency's work are determined through a five-year Multi-annual Framework. On 11 March 2013, the Justice and Home Affairs Council of the European Union, on proposal of the European Commission and after consulting the European Parliament, adopted the agency’s current Multi-annual Framework.

The Council's Decision states that the Agency will work in the following nine areas:

a) access to justice;

b) victims of crime, including compensation to victims;

c) information society and, in particular, respect for private life and protection of personal data;

d) Roma integration;

e) judicial cooperation, except in criminal matters;

f) rights of the child;

g) discrimination based on sex, race, colour, ethnic or social origin, genetic features, language, religion or belief, political or any other opinion, membership of a national minority, property, birth, disability, age or sexual orientation;

h) immigration and integration of migrants, visa and border control and asylum;

i) racism, xenophobia and related intolerance.

The Framework is implemented in complementarity to the work of other EU bodies, the Council of Europe and other international organisations involved in the field of human rights.

The current Multi-annual Framework will expire on 31st December 2017 and will be replaced by a new Council Decision.

The previous Multi-annual Framework spanned the years 2007-2012.


Publication date: 12 March 2013

Council Decision No 252/2013/EU establishing a Multiannual Framework for 2013-2017 for the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (715.59 KB)

Publication date: 10 August 2012

OP- FRA MB on Commission MAF Proposal 18 Oct 2011 (616.18 KB)