You are here:

Multi-annual Framework 2007-2012

The thematic areas of the agency's work are determined through a five-year Multi-annual Framework. On 28 February 2008, the Justice and Home Affairs Council of the European Union, on proposal of the European Commission and after consulting the European Parliament, adopted the agency’s Multi-annual Framework 2007-2012.

The Council's Decision states that the agency will work in the following areas:

a) racism, xenophobia and related intolerance;

b) discrimination based on sex, race or ethnic origin, religion or belief, disability, age or sexual orientation and against persons belonging to minorities and any combination of these grounds (multiple discrimination);

c) compensation of victims;

d) the rights of the child, including the protection of children;

e) asylum, immigration and integration of migrants;

f) visa and border control;

g) participation of the EU citizens in the Union's democratic functioning;

h) information society and, in particular, respect for private life and protection of personal data; and

i) access to efficient and independent justice.

The Framework is implemented in complementarity to the work of other EU bodies, the Council of Europe and other international organisations involved in the field of human rights.

The current Multi-annual Framework will expire on 31st December 2012 and will be replaced by a new Council Decision.


Publication date: 10 August 2012

Council decision of 28 February 2008 implementing Regulation (EC) No 168/2007 as regards the adoption of a Multi-annual Framework for the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights for 2007-2012 (36.93 KB)